New York Yankees Rookie of the Year Award Winners

Yankee Stadium EntrywayThe Rookie of the Year Award began in 1947 and is bestowed by the Baseball Writers Association of America. In 1947 and 1948 there was one award for all of Major League Baseball. However, from 1949 to the modern day there is one honor for the best rookie in both the American League and National League.

The New York Yankees have eight players that have been Rookie of the Year since the inception of the award in 1947. Some might find it shocking that only eight New York Yankees have won the Rookie of the Year Award. But only the Dodgers have more award winners than the Yankees in the history of the award.

Below is the list of all New York Yankees Rookie of the Year Award winners. When you look at the list you might not see some historically great New York Yankees. It is important to remember that the award did not begin until 1947 and not every player erupts year one. Nevertheless there are some historical greats on the list to include but not limited to Thurman Munson and Derek Jeter.

PlayerYear AwardedPosition
Gil McDougald1951Infield
Bob Grim1954Pitcher
Tony Kubek1957Shortstop
Tom Tresh1962Shortstop
Stan Bahnsen1968Pitcher
Thurman Munson1970Catcher
Dave Righetti1981Pitcher
Derek Jeter1996Shortstop

Join The Discussion

Yankee Stadium Subway Sign
Yankees Trading for Frazier, Robertson, Kahnle Losing Rutherford, Clarkin Worth It?
Yankee Stadium Sign
Greg Bird Surgery Is Possible
Yankee Stadium Daylight
Michael Pineda Tommy John Surgery Is Possible
Derek Jeter
Derek Jeter Ownership Team Wins Bid To Buy Marlins
Aaron Judge AL MVP Debate NYYD Roundtable Discusses His Chances
Role Models
Role Models Should Be Parents Not Athletes
Yankee Stadium Daylight
Yankees Could Trade For Justin Bour But At What Cost
Yankee Stadium Sign
MLB The Show 18 Cover Vote
Yankee Stadium
Tommy John Surgery History and Yankees Pitchers to Get It
Derek Jeter
Derek Jeter Career By The Numbers
Yankee Stadium Entryway
Lou Gehrig’s Luckiest Man Speech
Yankee Stadium Entryway
Yankees Don Larsen World Series Perfect Game